Texas Engineering is supporting my railroad.

Jim Zwernmann's P48 railroad is shown in the Arnold Menke picture.

Jim Zwernmann’s P48 railroad is shown in the Arnold Menke picture.

The basic design of my benchwork is a cantilevered framework that is tied to the wall studs and supported at the top of the perimeter foundation.   Jim Zwernemann developed a simple design that is plenty strong and with a minimum of legs to get in the way.    The topside is an “L” girder design so it is very flexible to accomodate your railroad design.   In my case, it allows me to freelance the design a bit.

Arnold Menke shot the underside of Jim's benchwork.   I have used this approach.

Arnold Menke shot the underside of Jim’s benchwork. I have used this approach.

Jim's sketch for the benchwork.   There is a basic "L" girder frame with a top structure supporting track and scenery.

Jim’s sketch for the benchwork. There is a basic “L” girder frame with a top structure supporting track and scenery.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Texas Engineering is supporting my railroad.

  1. It’s an honor to see my benchwork design featured on your blog. Oh, I guess I’d better tell you that I don’t know if it’s earthquake-proof. JZ

    ________________________________

    • Jim
      It is an honor to have your work on my blog. The title company told me that there weren’t any faults in my area.
      Gee, I wonder why they reinforced Folsom damn nearby.

      Gene

  2. Hi Gene,
    Enjoyed reading your layout construction blog,

    Regarding the garage door left unsealed: There is a rubber weatherstrip material with a flexible flap that can be mounted around the outside of the door opening to close off the gap. The door can still be opened when necessary. Cuts down on entry of drafts and at least the larger spiders.
    Charlie

  3. Gene,

    Thanks for posting Jim’s sketches of his & your benchwork. I really like his idea and plan on using something similar on my layout when I built a portion of it around the walls.

    Rod

      • Gene,

        Thank you for the offer, I would like to do that. Drop me a email and we can discuss a time for me to stop by. My email is rod at lisaknit dot com.

        Rod

  4. Gene,
    Roger on Charlie’s suggestion on adding the flexible weather strip around the outside of your garage door. It helps greatly in keeping down the dust and wind and helps on temperature control. I used it around the garage door on my layout room. Make it tight.

    gop48jim

Leave a Reply

