Almost Dust Free…Almost

Yesterday, I started to install homasote roadbed from California Roadbed.  The stuff is very easy to install with a minimum of dust and fuss.   My previous experience with homasote roadbed involved cutting strips on a table saw and creating a huge amount of very fine dust.   While it is a bit expensive, it is  the way to go.

Roadbed is being glued and clamped down the plywood.

Roadbed is being glued and clamped down the plywood.

I have decided to glue the roadbed down with PVA glue and with clamps to ensure a flatter surface with a minimum of ripple.

It is inspiring to look down the roadbed and visualize the track being in place.

It is inspiring to look down the roadbed and visualize the track being in place.

Jim Zwernemann once told me that he experienced a rush seeing the layout progressing.  It is exciting.

I need to get back to a few pilot models that I am late on.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Almost Dust Free…Almost

  1. Gene,
    I am constructing my layout with similar materials and design. A visiting modeler asked if I was building a layout as it appeared to look like more like furniture. I have seen his layout and it appears the bench work’s origin must have been discarded pallet lumber. Your use of Blue Point switch machine interests me.

    Charley

    • Charlie
      Lumber is expensive so finding an inexpensive source is helpful as long as it doesn’t warp or split.
      My bench work is study but hardy furniture. It came in handy as storage shelves during a recent remodel of our home.
      Blue Point controller is new to me. It seems like a good way to go for certain turnouts. I hate wiring layouts so less is better. I bought a bunch of Blue Point machines on EBay. For a number of frequently used turnouts, I will use the stall motor type machines sold by C.C. Crow.

      Gene

  2. Gene – Yes, California Roadbed (used to be Homabed) is great. Here in Texas, we have swings of humidity, and it is necessary to paint the homasote with latex paint – otherwise, it will swell with humidity or moisture. This needs to be done before the ties go down. I have 30 feet of display track made this way, and have had no problem with swelling. Lorell Joiner also painted his roadbed to seal it before laying ties. Any opinions on this? The layout looks great. Gene!

    • A.T.
      I would imagine the summer humidity down your way will take the starch out out of nearly anything. I used to down to E-Systems north of Waco. The heat and humidity out on the flight line would sap the energy out of me.
      Gene

Leave a Reply

