RAILROAD STRUCTURES- More Shanties

DSC_0743

I was going through my files the other night looking for a picture and discovered a few more examples of crossing shanties for other railroads.
As a sidebar to the topic of shanties, my tendency to like anything railroads has lead me down many paths of interest.

Steam-Class-E-617-Racine-6-
Way back in the dark ages in my childhood, my family lived in Racine, Wisconsin. My dad worked for Johnson Wax. Racine was a good place to form early childhood memories of railroads since it was served by the C&NW, North Shore and to some extent the Milwaukee Road. As a child, I rode the North Shore Electoliner to Milwaukee. The line tied up in a station adjacent to the Milwaukee Road’s passenger shed. Lots of maroon and orange steam and diesel for my eyes to feast upon. Our annual trip to New Jersey to visit family started with the C&NW to Chicago. My earliest memories were of C&NW steam powered trains providing transport to Chicago. Later on in my childhood, we moved to New Jersey and introduced to the New York & Long Branch. My initial interest in prototypes was oriented around what I saw on a frequent basis. Pennsy equipment was used on the NY&LB along with Jersey Central. The Tuscan colored coaches paraded by during the morning and evening commute. They were hauled by K4s pacifics and later Baldwin Sharks and Alco PAs. In time, we moved again but this time it was only to the northern part of New Jersey.
We now lived close to the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western. It was 1953 and steam on the Lackawanna expired in that year. I only recall seeing one live steamer. The Lackawanna was a well maintained and engineered railroad that made extensive use of concrete in the construction of bridges and buildings. They did managed to build and maintain an interesting collection of crossing shanties made from wood with lots of interesting architectural details. Their color scheme for structures was red and a deep green. They reminded me of Christmas decorations.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “RAILROAD STRUCTURES- More Shanties

  1. Gene- I live near Toledo, Ohio once the second largest rail center in the country. Nine steam and nine electric lines served the city. Most of their crossing shanties were constructed of board & batten lumber, painted gray and many lasted until guards were eliminated. One of the streetcar lines had an elevated shanty where it crossed five sets of tracks. Almost all had ties for foundations. Toledo’s air quality was not the best until the diesels came.

  2. Gene, I know the spike discussion has beat the subject to death, but what spikes were used on your Lackawanna caboose photo trackage?

    Also, please keep posting the great structure pix.

    Bill

  3. Gene,
    There is an interesting slide on ebay ( Crossing-Watchman-Shanty-/310765642042 ) of an elevated octagonal crossing watchman shanty. No mention of what railroad this is.
    Charlie

  4. Hello Gene,
    I recently built an O scale model of a shanty similar to your photo of “danville04-2″ I worked from your photo and one from Flickr of Kensington St in Buffalo. Anyway, I wrote a construction article for Model Railroader about it and I would like to obtain permission to use your photo for the article. You would receive credit, etc. Also, do you have other photos of this shanty? Thank you in advance- easiest for me if you reply to my email but the blog will do as well.
    michael@raildesignservices.com

Leave a Reply

