Old Model Projects Found

 

I was digging through some storage boxes in my shop and found a few surprises.   One of the finds was an incomplete 1/4″ scale model of the Columbia Valley HO kit. This is the same design that I talked about in an earlier blog.   It has been a favorite of mine ever since I saw the HO kit.

cottage1

I bought the HO kit and used it as a pattern for my model.  The HO kit was a traditional  wood and cardboard style of construction.  My version was done in styrene and Evergreen novelty siding instead of “scribed” style material used in the kit.   I revised the method of assembly to simplify paint.  The window and door frames are built over a .040″ strips so to create a recess so the novelty siding will slide under the window and door trim.

cottage3

The door openings were sized to fit Grandt Line parts.

cottage2

I am looking forward to finish up the project that was started over 30 years ago.

The second item found was a model built for a Narrow Gauge & Shortline Gazette article that was published in 1976.   Bob Brown asked me to see if I could do a small article for a future issue.   The future issue happened to be only a couple months away. The model is of a ballast spreader based on an old Fonda, Johnstown and Gloversville Railroad drawing.   I was never able to find a picture of the prototype  so I don’t know if it was actually built.  My model was built from basswood and was stained with Floquil lacquer paints.   The model used Henning 1/4″AAR steel wheels.

fj&g plow

 

2 thoughts on “Old Model Projects Found

Leave a Reply

