MODELING: Progress on the Wilson Reefer

wilson wedge

It has been a busy week with lots of activities outside of the home.  Oh yes, it is baseball season so watching the Giants is very important especially when they are winning.   I was able to push forward on the Wilson build.

wilson bolster

The underframe has been a guessing game as to how they were designed and built.  The crossbearers are fairly clear in photos so the positioning can be determined by counting boards in the siding.  Each board is 3.25″ wide.  The body bolster is a bit of a mystery since only the end shows in photos. The rectangular shape leads me to believe that the design more like what you would find on a similar boxcar of the era.  I made the bolster with a taper.  I used USRA bottom plate dimensions of 14″ wide.

wilson underframe

The above photo shows the bottom flanges (.015″ x .125″) and trainline (.033″) installed.  You can see the top plates on the bolsters.  I haven’t decided on the draft gear since I have heard rumors that Protocraft has a new draft gear in the works.   I understand that it is smaller than the current part.

wilson truck mount

I reinstalled the Protocraft ASF A-3 trucks at this time.  They will come off again once I install the brake equipment and draft gear.

wilson end

I started to install the fascia on the body.  I settled on 5″ boards for the top layer on the sides.  This allowed me to install the last roof board which is only .080″ wide.   Next time, I hope to finish the fascia and corner plates.  I will cover the AB brake system as well.

Happy Trails,

Gene


4 thoughts on “MODELING: Progress on the Wilson Reefer

  1. Gene,
    Your usual good work. Is that heat shrink tubing to connect and hold the air line in its correct position?
    Bill

  2. ?Gene,

    Your blog on the Wilson meat refrigerator holds a special interest for me because I am doing the same car in S scale. The car is my effort in going completely from scratch. Your photos and captions tell me that I will have to do a second car and to follow your methods which are definitely an improvement on mine. So thank you for assisting an S-scale modeler.

    Tom Baker

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

