MODELING: General Electric Malfunctions

I had a General Electric dishwasher that gave up the ghost recently.  It didn’t belch flames but it did spread water on the floor.  I recalled this event when I was reading an email from Lee Turner regarding a certain GE C-39-8 and it’s malfunction.  Lee went on in his email to describe his dad’s dislike of GE transportation products. He was a senior motive power executive with the Lehigh Valley. At the time the Valley had GE electrical in their diesels.  They didn’t measure up to the road’s demands.  Moving on to this posting, Lee will show you the antics of a big six-axle C-39-8  and how it displayed its temper.

The beast is shown above. Lee started with a couple of Overland brass C-39-8 imports.  He added paint, lettering and his touch of weathering.  The bright Conrail blue was toned down considerable with the washes of acrylic.   The upper portion of the carbody looks “oily” from the engine exhaust.

The engineer notched the throttle and the big power plant belched up some carbon and unburnt diesel fuel.

Lee created the theatrical effect with cotton with dabs of orange and red paint at the base.  I think he has managed to create a little drama with the model pictures.

I like the overall job Lee did on the diesels and the added effort of creating the special effect.

I found this photo online and shared it with Norm Buckhart a former Pan Am Captain and Navy aviator. The picture was taken of an aircraft on short final for 13L at Boeing Field.  That is one majestic view of Mt. Rainer.   He shared that views like this made him wish that he was still a pilot.

Boeing Field is an interesting place to visit to see lots of new airliners being readied for delivery to their owners.  There is an air and space museum that is worth the time.

Thanks for stopping by,

Gene

9 thoughts on “MODELING: General Electric Malfunctions

  1. Years ago I had a view of the Indianapolis power plant from my office window.

    I think Conrail always had multiple locos on the trains to provide backup when a unit failed as they often looked like steamers under heavy load even though they were running through town on level track.

    The power plant had a steep incline to the dumper and several times I watched switchers lose an engine shoving hoppers up the grade – lots of smoke and flames in the heart of the city.

    Memories!

  2. The dash-8 series engines were indeed bad! I had one in my consist one night that belched so much flame that fire departments were called along my route. It was so bright that I could see both side of the track in the mirrors. The dispatcher told me to shut it down. I said I would after the last hill, which I did. GE worked out their problems and the next series were great! My favorite of all was the UP 7500 series 6,000 horsepower engines.

Leave a Reply

