MODELING: A Tool for Minutia

I came across a few things that I would share with you. First is a somewhat esoteric tool that is probably over the top in terms of worrying about the minutia. I was cruising through the Unique Master Models (UMM-USA) website and found a tool that will punch out tree leaves. Well, tree leaves do have a place in detailing a vignette on your layout.

This is a simple punch that works ok on dry leaves pretty well. The tool just arrived today but after the rain had started. Fortunately, I did find one near the door. The resulting leaves are produced in four different sizes with the smallest being for 1/48. The fall foliage is nearing its peak in color right now. I hope to collect some different leaves to create a bunch of leaves soon.

The resulting leaves aren’t perfect but have possibilities.

UMM offers several different styles of leaf punches. You can get maple (the one I bought), birch, lime and oak punches. They are $14.99 each.

BIG SCALE MODELING

The two shots shown above are the work of Chuck Doan.  He is an accomplished builder of scale models with few peers.  The winch assembly is part of a donkey engine that he building in 1/18 scale.  The model was designed in 3D CAD and printed by Shapeway.

See you next time,

Gene

 

 

7 thoughts on “MODELING: A Tool for Minutia

  1. Gene, an excellent find. A common tree in my modelling area (Vancouver Island) is the big leaf maple. Typically , the leaves are around 8 inches but range up to a foot. I visited the UMM website but they do not specify the size of the leaves. Could you kindly supply the info?
    Bill

  2. The leaves will be a great tool in your arsenal for dioramas. Another Chuck Doan piece, incredible! He is my “Hero” modeler and I am constantly trying to hone my skills to try and improve with his work as my inspiration.

Leave a Reply

