MODELING: Lee Turner Tries Large Scale

After building many models, we sometimes get bored and look for a project that gets the creative part of your brain to work.  Lee is trying something big for a change.

Here are Lee’s own words regarding this project:

 Here is a current project, a 1:22.3 “F” scale caboose. A lot of fun working outside my O scale comfort zone. My “scale vision” has developed and O scale seems small to me these days. Note the size difference to the Atlas X29 in the one image. Like yourself I model mostly in styrene and the switch to an all wood construction made me remember how unstable wood is! What fits tight and square when I go to bed is wavy and buckled in the morning. Hopefully final assembly and glue will hold all the parts together. 
The one thing about wood in large scale is the staining and coloring can very realistic a little effort.  You can get this effect with styrene but with a great deal of skill and time.
Here is a shot of his archbar truck complete with a wood spring plank.  Reminds me some old narrow gauge trucks.
It is great to see that Lee is still building these days and finally for himself for a change.
Thank you so much for sharing your work with us.
Gene Deimling

2 thoughts on “MODELING: Lee Turner Tries Large Scale

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.