Details: A tip on detailing car ends

Pilot model of Chooch kit.   This is an example of the detailing challenges

Pilot model of Chooch kit. This is an example of the detailing challenges

Detailing car ends has been a pain in the butt. The first one is relatively easy but the second one is not. It is hard to avoid damage to the other end once you detail the first end.
For the last several years, I have been using a simple tool to make the job easier. I clamp a heavy steel ruler to my workbench top so that I can hang the car body from the ruler.

simple cantilever arrangement for car end detailing.

simple cantilever arrangement for car end detailing.

7 thoughts on “Details: A tip on detailing car ends

    • Mike
      I have added a small plastic clamp to secure the car to the steel ruler. I think the clamps are made by Irwin. You can get them at Lowes or Home Depot.

      Gene

  1. Gene::

    Great tip which reminds me of a jeweler’s bench pin (Google around to help visualize)

    There are a few styles of these available and are used by jewelers a ‘mini’ work surface for cutting, filing and shaping rings and the like.

    .vp

    PS: Great blog so far!

  2. Gene,
    I’ve looked at this post a number of times and was confused.
    I kept thinking the car is balanced on the ruler by the other end of the car.

    Today, I re-read this post and think I saw it different.
    Is the ruler inside the car?
    And there is no roof on the car?

    George

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.